Yayoi Kusama: My Eternal Soul

Kusama My Eternal Soul Exhibition, TokyoAt Tokyo’s National Art Center, the exhibition Yayoi Kusama: My Eternal Soul, takes center stage as one of Kusama’s largest shows yet.

Yayoi Kusama: My Eternal Soul, TokyoKusama and I have a long history together, which began way back in 2004, when I saw her Kusamatrix exhibition at Tokyo’s Mori Art Museum. This was followed by the Kusama exhibition at London’s Tate Modern in 2012 and followed by Yayoi Kusama In Infinity at Moderna Museet in Stockholm 2016. It’s been interesting to follow her how work and audience have developed over time, especially after the buzz/hype caused by her Louis Vuitton collaboration.

Yayoi Kusama: My Eternal Soul Exhibition

Yayoi Kusama: My Eternal SoulThe exhibition features 270 works selected from Kusama’s more than 70-year prolific career. On display are 132 large-scale paintings from Kusama’s “My Eternal Soul” series, several sculptures (which I find very cheerful), and a retrospective aspect with 80 works ranging from Kusama’s earliest drawings to the more present.

Yayoi Kusama: My Eternal SoulKusama’s pumpkin sculpture.

Yayoi Kusama: My Eternal SoulNarcissus Garden.

The National Art Center, TokyoThe National Art Center, Tokyo, architecture by Kisho Kurokawa.

Roppongi

2 thoughts on “Yayoi Kusama: My Eternal Soul

Leave a Reply

